YASAS members elected a new board

The Young Academies Science Advice Structure (YASAS) which joined the SAPEA project in May 2022, has a new board.

Following the General Assembly of YASAS on the 16th of September and elections on the 30th of September a new YASAS board for 2022-2023 has been chosen:

The new YASAS president is Moniek Tromp, Prof. Materials Chemistry of the University of Groningen and standing delegate for the Young Academy Europe (she was YASAS board member for the last two years).

The elected board members are:

– Jacek Kolanowski, head of the Department of Molecular Probes and Pro-drugs and the Center for High-throughput Screening Research at the Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry of the Polish Academy of Science in Poznań, standing delegate for the Polish Young Academy. He was the previous YASAS president (2020-2022).

– Sarah Verhulst, Prof. Hearing Technology at the University of Gent, and standing delegate for the “De Jonge Academie”, Belgium.

– Helen Eenmaa, researcher in Information Technology, at the School of Law at the University of Tartu, and standing delegate for the Estonian Young Academy of Sciences

– Viktorija Vaštakaitė-Kairienė, chief researcher at the Lithuanian Research Centre for Agriculture and Forestry, associate professor at Vytautas Magnus University Agriculture Academy, and a standing delegate from The Young Academy of the Lithuanian Academy of Sciences.