Professor Antonio Loprieno takes over as Chair of SAPEA

Professor Antonio Loprieno becomes the new chair of the SAPEA Board. Professor Loprieno is the President of ALLEA, and a fellow of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences.

He takes over from Professor Sierd Cloetingh, President of Academia Europaea.

Professor Cloetingh said:

“It has been a pleasure to serve as the chair of the SAPEA board during an important period both for the Scientific Advice Mechanism and for science advice in general. I know we are in good hands with Antonio as the next chair and I look forward to continuing to participate in the project.”

Professor Loprieno said:

“This is an exciting time to become chair of the SAPEA Board, with important new projects on the horizon and more public interest than ever in the role of scientific evidence in policy. I thank Sierd for his excellent leadership until now, and I look forward to contributing to the ongoing success of SAPEA.”


Two new members of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Eric Lambin and Eva Zažimalová have been appointed to the European Commission’s Group of Chief Scientific Advisors for a term of three years. They were nominated by European Research Organisations and selected by an independent Identification Committee, and will replace Professor Carina Keskitalo and Sir Paul Nurse, whose mandates expired on 15 May 2021.

Read More

Fourteen Young Academies in Europe prepare to deliver science advice

On 2 December 2020, standing delegates of European young academies joined for the first General Assembly of YASAS: the Young Academies Science Advice Structure. After years of informal, yet constructive collaboration and knowledge exchange on topics of concern to early-career researchers, the initiative was taken to create a formal platform for cooperation of European Young Academies

Read More

Three new Advisors to the European Commission appointed

Maarja Kruusmaa, Alberto Melloni and Nebojsa Nakicenovic are the three new members appointed to the European Commission’s Group of Chief Scientific Advisors. Additionally, Nicole Grobert and Sir Paul Nurse have been elected as the new Chair and deputy-Chair of the Group.

Read More

to our newsletter