New Advisor to the European Commission appointed

Éva Kondorosi, a plant biologist from Hungary and a board Member of Academia Europae have been appointed to the European Group of Chief Scientific Advisors.

Professors Kondorosi is a Fellow of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences,  Leopoldina and the French Academy of Agriculture. She  will stay for a three-year term succeeding  Janusz Bujnicki, who have completed his term. The mandate of Elvira Fortunato has been extended to the maximum of five years and will expire on 15 November 2020.

Rolf- Dieter Heuer and Pearl Dykstra will also leave at the end of their terms in November. European scientific and research organisations have been invited to nominate outstanding candidates to the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors.



Two new members of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Eric Lambin and Eva Zažimalová have been appointed to the European Commission’s Group of Chief Scientific Advisors for a term of three years. They were nominated by European Research Organisations and selected by an independent Identification Committee, and will replace Professor Carina Keskitalo and Sir Paul Nurse, whose mandates expired on 15 May 2021.

Read More

Fourteen Young Academies in Europe prepare to deliver science advice

On 2 December 2020, standing delegates of European young academies joined for the first General Assembly of YASAS: the Young Academies Science Advice Structure. After years of informal, yet constructive collaboration and knowledge exchange on topics of concern to early-career researchers, the initiative was taken to create a formal platform for cooperation of European Young Academies

Read More

to our newsletter