Three new Advisors to the European Commission appointed

Maarja Kruusmaa, Alberto Melloni and Nebojsa Nakicenovic are the three new members appointed to the European Commission’s Group of Chief Scientific Advisors. Additionally, Nicole Grobert and Sir Paul Nurse have been elected as the new Chair and deputy-Chair of the Group.

The three new members were nominated by Research Organisations in response to an open call for nominations and shortlisted by a high level independent Identification Committee. They have been appointed for three years.

Maarja Kruusmaa is a Member of the Board, Estonian Academy of Sciences. She is a Professor of Biorobotics, Vice-rector for Research, Tallinn University of Technology (TalTech) and Visiting professor with Norwegian Institute of Science and Technology (NTNU).

Alberto Melloni is a fellow of the Accdemia Nazionale dei Lincei. He is a Professor of History of Christianity at University of Modena/Reggio Emilia, secretary of the Foundation for Religious Studies and Chair Holder of the UNESCO Chair on Religious Pluralism and Peace at the University of Bologna.

Nebojsa Nakicenovic is a fellow of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. He is a director of The World in 2050 (TWI2050). Former Deputy Director General and Acting Director General of the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA) and a former tenured Professor of Energy Economics at Vienna University of Technology.

More information on the European Commission’s website.


Two new members of the Group of Chief Scientific Advisors

Eric Lambin and Eva Zažimalová have been appointed to the European Commission’s Group of Chief Scientific Advisors for a term of three years. They were nominated by European Research Organisations and selected by an independent Identification Committee, and will replace Professor Carina Keskitalo and Sir Paul Nurse, whose mandates expired on 15 May 2021.

Read More

Fourteen Young Academies in Europe prepare to deliver science advice

On 2 December 2020, standing delegates of European young academies joined for the first General Assembly of YASAS: the Young Academies Science Advice Structure. After years of informal, yet constructive collaboration and knowledge exchange on topics of concern to early-career researchers, the initiative was taken to create a formal platform for cooperation of European Young Academies

Read More

to our newsletter